12 replies [Last post]
nathane's picture
Juice: 4
Was this information Helpful?

Good day,

We're trying to implement file downloads on our site - we want to sell PDFs. However, we would like to stamp/watermark every pdf with the user's name and order information upon download.

I'm guessing this is possible, but I could not find a mondule that performs this currently. Does anyone know of anything that is in work? The only thing I could find was PDF Stamper: http://drupal.org/project/pdfstamper - but this stamps incomming fils and it is NOT what we are looking for.

And IF nothing is out there or in work - can anyone offer any sage advice on how big of a project this would be to enable this?

Admin for Untold the Game!

s2
s2's picture
Juice: 11
Re: PDF Watermark

I would start by looking at what the pdfstamper project is doing. You want to do the same thing, just at a different point in the process. I am still learning about the ubercart api, but I assume that there is a hook you could use to call code that stamps the pdf before making it available for download. I think the hard work is done, it is just a matter of wrapping up in a package for use in ubercart.

betauli's picture
Juice: 24
Re: PDF Watermark

hi nathane and s2, I also have the same need to stamp downloadable file from Ubercart products. I suggest we make a team to build a module to have this done. I think modifying pdfstamper to fill our need is a good start.

I have identify some obstacles:
1. file download is not a node, hence not a Product. it is an attribute to a Product node. A module ussually deal with node, not attribute.
2. stamping or watermarking is processed when drupal (uc_file_download) making link. So, hook implementation is rather difficult without modifying the uc_file_download.
3. how to place an exact coordinate to various dimension of pdf files.

laho's picture
Juice: 8
Re: Re: PDF Watermark

Has anyone made any progress with this?