5 replies [Last post]
btully80's picture
Juice: 4
Was this information Helpful?

Hello,

I am new to Drupal and currently evaluating Ubercart as a solution to front end a subscription based hosting service that I am working on. Before I invest time and energy in throwing up a sandbox environment I would like to get some feedback from the community as to whether or not Ubercart would be a good fit for my requirements. I've been through the forums and haven't been able to find any recent information that provides a complete answer to my situation. Any help, feedback, or advice that you could give would be greatly appreciated.

The main purpose of my site is to allow users to subscribe to a basic, intermediate, or advanced hosting subscription. With each subscription type the user would get different levels of feature/functionality. The specific requirements of the subscription management engine for my project are as follows:

MULTIPLE SUBSCRIPTION PLANS - I would need to have 6 different subscription plans. Each subscription would need to have a 1 month or 1 year expiration. I believe Drupal/Ubercart handles this with roles??? See example below:
- Basic for $10/month or $90/year
- Intermediate for $15/month or $135/year
- Advanced for $25/month or $225/year

PAYMENT HANDLING - The system will need to accept multiple payment methods. From what I have read from previous forum posts, Ubercart has this ability already.
- Authorize.net and Paypal

AUTOMATIC RENEWAL (aka re-occuring payments) - The system should automatically renew a users subscription on a monthly or yearly basis (depending on subscription plan). Upon renewal the subscription fee should be re-processed based off the user's previously entered payment information.

RENEWAL NOTIFICATIONS - The system should be able to send out the following email notifications to the user.
- Pre-renewal notification - i.e. "Your subscription is scheduled to be renewed on XX/XX/XXXX for $X".