5 replies [Last post]
elarifr's picture
Juice: 5
Was this information Helpful?

Hello all.
I'm very new to drupal / ubercart as it make only two days that i installed first pilot site. i'm a computer repair technician in France and i have a customer wanting a small web page to resell refurb cars (sorry for my english Sad

i have installed drupal / ubercart and played with cck to add extra field for
brand / model / colors / year / km / motor power....
there will be no online resell (this is only a product show)
for now i made a small test site http://accedinfo.com/ott52/ and still have some difficulties to manage taxonomy / categories in products but has i see other live site it seems drupal / ubercart should be a good way for this customer so i will like to play a bit in drupal code...

reading the post avalaible here it seems that using cck should create some garbage in product it there are some change in cck field?

i have found a uc_extra_column module that seems/claims to add directly field much more in ubercart api (tapir ?) way ?

should it be as easy as hacking the uc_extra_field to create a new module to add directly few fields i need in product without having to play with cck ?
does something like
$fields[] = array('name' => 'brand',
'title' => t('Brand'),
'weight' => 0,
'enabled' => true,
be enough to create a brand field in product table ?
if yes, then how to create a kind of autocomplete field (for brand, color... ) , or drop down menu with already populated values (for manufacture year , motor power ...)

any entry point that i can check to understand (fast & easy ? ) how to play with uc_ modules ?

thanks for any anwser, and please remember i have absolutly no knowhow in Drupal Sad

Lyle's picture
AdministratoreLiTe!
Juice: 6855
Re: ubercart for a car repair shop / reselling old cars ?