57 replies [Last post]
jorditr's picture
Getting busy with the Ubercode.
Juice: 256
Was this information Helpful?

Hi you all.

That's my first contribution and I'm not sure which is the best way to contribute it, so I've started here. I'm building a (somewhat big) e-commerce site and the customers strongly wanted a grid view of the list of products. Since I got not results from the uc_catalog_grid.module (basically it was not working) I studied it and realized it was very easy to implement on the regular uc_catalog.module. Well, that's what I've done, I've added uc_catalog_grid.module onto uc_catalog.module and I wonder if it could be evaluated even to be considered core. What's new on it:

• upgraded catalog settings page with three collapsible fieldsets for catalog itself (most of it now), block settings and new grid view (with checkbox for activating/deactivating it)
  • functions to display the products on a grid instead of the present table list
  • possiibility to choose between regular list (as usual) and grid view with adjustable width (number of columns)
  • double cheched Eye-wink compatibility with taxonomy module as it was detected on some thread, now it works without hacks on the the taxonomy.module
  • upgraded css file with new styles ready to work
  • it won't require setting views or additional modules

Well, most of it was there, I've just put all the pieces together, and I think it is a big improvement since it allows to select what kind of display you prefer, and, sincerely, for most comercial shops is more atractive the grid display option, I'm afraid at some point it had to be implemented.