79 replies [Last post]
tisabelle's picture
Juice: 85
Was this information Helpful?

Hello,

The two tasks I am trying to accomplish are simple.

First, through Drupal, I need to be able to export all or a selection (perhaps sorted by brand) of my products (otherwise known as my Drupal "product nodes") to my desktop as a .csv file. I will then open the .csv file using Open Office and modify the data that I need to modify (such as prices and product descriptions) and add any new products from my vendors' price lists to this "master .csv file" I have just created.

Second, I need to be able to import this .csv file back in through Drupal when I am done. Sometimes, I am working with tens of thousands of products at one time. There is no way I can do this efficiently by creating one "product node" at a time.

I'm new to Ubercart (previously a user of CRE Loaded, a version of OS Commerce). I am convinced from dabbling with it that Ubercart has huge advantages over CRE Loaded including more functionality and better ability to customize. Though I could accomplish both of these tasks literally with just a few clicks in CRE Loaded, I cannot seem to replicate these functions with Ubercart. I have installed and tried doing this with various modules including "node_export", and "views" with "view_bonus". They all appear to be the right modules for the job, but I just can not get it to work on any of them. I have spent hours searching the module forums, Drupals forums, and Ubercarts forums with no luck in getting this resolved. Either I am using the wrong modules or I am using the modules wrong.

Please advise. Thank you for your time!

~ Tom

jrowny's picture
Juice: 297
Re: Import / Export Products to .csv File

It's going to be hard to get it working exactly right, but you're going to need to use Migrate: http://drupal.org/project/migrate, table wizard: http://drupal.org/project/tw, and views: http://drupal.org/project/views.