4 replies [Last post]
outsider17@drupal.org's picture
Juice: 3
Was this information Helpful?

I've been floating around the world of web development since 2000 or so, and have been focusing on Drupal the last couple of years or so. I'm really excited about Ubercart, though I'm not really a developer. My fulltime job is a Business Analyst, and I'll be applying my analytical mind to Usability of Ubercart. Hopefully I can provide usability feedback to developers so we can create an open source cart solution that truely most people can set up, not just those used to CMS.

Something I'm particularly interested in is how workflows fit within Ubercart and CMS in general. Essentially all our modules are very function specific. These functions we link together to create a process. How about instead of us just remembering this process in our head, create a software based workflow that would allow people to step-by-step walk through the process of adding a product, from the addtion of a manufacturer through to adding a product, through to adding attributes, and all the required steps in between. People are good at following step by step processes, and once they have they hang of these easy to use (but inflexible) workflows, then they can go onto adding just a manufacturer or just a project.

BTW - I saw no posts in this forum so I had to manually create an add post link to submit this, but now that I've done that the add post link seems to work for all, so hopefully we'll see more usability posts now:)

Regards,
Waylon Kenning | Managing Director | http://www.kenningcorp.com

Ryan's picture
Juice: 15459
Re: My focus on Usability - Workflows